The College Football Playoff board of managers unanimously approved a model that will guarantee the five highest-ranked conference champions inclusion in the expanded 12-team field this fall, along with the next seven highest-ranked teams, the CFP announced on Tuesday.

After months of delay at the behest of the dwindling Pac-12, the decision was made on Tuesday morning in a virtual meeting of the 10 FBS commissioners and Notre Dame president Rev. John Jenkins. The vote had to be unanimous for the 5+7 format to be approved, and the Pac-12 had either previously abstained or asked for a delay as it worked on determining its future following sweeping conference realignment.